Twitter is interesting, great and useful to know different views from the people who don’t have the same opinion as you. But it can also be a hilarious, unbearable cesspit of hatred and abuse. Whenever there is breaking news, controversial news or any these days, you can bet that there is someone who is tweeting about it. Around 6000 tweets tweed per second on Twitter from different people.
For those who tired of retweets, mentions and direct messages or want some little more internet privacy permanently turn your back on the social media, this post for you. Its very simple to deactivate or delete your Twitter account. Here in this article, we will guide you how to delete your twitter account.
Deactivating your twitter account is a way to inform to Twitter to delete your account and information. When you deactivate your Twitter account, Twitter will purge your date from their database and system within minutes and put it in the queue for permanent deletion.
However, we suggest you take caution when deactivating your twitter account. Twitter offers a 30 days grace period for undeleting or reactivating your Twitter account. But after that, Twitter will start the process of permanently deleting your account from their website and database.
For deactivating or deleting your Twitter account, you need to login to your twitter account from the website. There is only one way to delete your Twitter account is from the Twitter website. You can’t delete your Twitter account from the mobile app.
How to delete your Twitter account
Step 1. Go to the Twitter.com, click on the Log in button the top-right corner of the window and log in using your Twitter username (or email address) and password.
Step 2. Click on your profile image in the top right corner of your browser. A drop-down menu will appear.
Step 3. Now click on setting and privacy.
Step 4. Scroll down and click on Deactivate my account at the bottom of the Settings page.
Step 5. Make sure you read all the information on the confirm deactivation page before committing to your decision. If you still want to delete your Twitter account, click on Deactivate @username button.
Step 6. Enter your Twitter account password and click Deactivate account for confirmation.
That’s it. Now your Twitter account is deactivated and wait for 30 days to delete.
How to delete your Twitter account permanently
After deactivating your Twitter account successfully, Twitter will keep your account information for 30 days. But after that, Twitter starts to remove your data from their website and database, which can take about a week. When 30 days grace period overs, your Twitter account is erased forever.
If you log into your Twitter account within 30 days after deactivating it, your Twitter account will be reactivated. For deleting your account permanently, you will need to wait for more 30 days after deactivation again. If you want to reactive or restore your Twitter account, just goto the website and log in with your username and password. Your Twitter account will be restored and reactivated.
It’s important to note that, you don’t need to delete your Twitter account if you don’t like your current username or email address or want to change your username or e-mail address. You can change them easily whenever you want, just go to your account settings and you can edit them there.
Twitter also points out that after deactivating your Twitter account, some data from your account may still be available on Twitter.com for a few days. Twitter has no control over what links appear third-party websites like Google or Bing. They may have cache content from your Twitter account for quicker loading. This means some of your profile data still be viewable elsewhere on the internet. If you find your Twitter profile information on any websites after deleting your account permanently, you can send them a request to remove your information from their website.
Once your Twitter account deletes permanently from the website, your profile data will be gone forever, followers, tweets, favorites and more. And also anyone will be able to create a new account using your old Twitter account username, after your account delete from Twitter.com permanently.
Once the 30 day grace period over, you can’t restore or reactivate your Twitter account. You can create a new Twitter account using your old Twitter username if no one has registered with the same username.